Same old same old – federal by-elections change nothing

Same old same old – federal by-elections change nothing

Ottawa, ON – As the saying goes, the more things change the more they stay the same and that sums up the results of five federal by-elections held April 3, 2017.

The ruling Liberals retained their three seats as expected and the Conservatives retained their two seats.

Emmanuella Lambropoulous easily retained the Liberal seat of Saint Laurent, formerly held by Stéphane Dion who stepped down to become Ambassador to the European Union and Ambassador to Germany.

The riding of Ottawa-Vanier was retained by the Liberals, won by Mona Fortier. She replaces Mauril Bélanger who died August 16, 2016.

Mary Ng retained the seat in Markham-Thornhill for the Liberals, she replaces John McCallum who was appointed Ambassador to China.

Bob Benzen retained the riding of Calgary-Heritage for the Conservatives, replacing former Prime Minister Stephen Harper , who resigned his seat in August 2016.

Steven Kusie retained the riding of Calgary Midnapore for the Conservatives. He replaces Jason Kenney who resigned his seat in September 2016 in order to enter provincial politics and pursue the leadership of the Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta