DROIT FÉDÉRAL DE REFUSER UN TRAVAIL DANGEREUX

DROIT FÉDÉRAL DE REFUSER UN TRAVAIL DANGEREUX {Code canadien du travail, art. 122, 128, 129, 146, 147} Téléchargez le PDF FICHE D’INFORMATION SUR LA SANTÉ ET LA SÉCURITÉ Danger est défini dans le Code comme tout danger, condition ou activité qui pourrait vraisemblablement constituer une menace imminente ou grave pour la vie ou la santé d’une personne qui y est exposée avant que le danger ou l’activité ne puisse être

La bourse d’études de l’AIM, un tremplin vers un grand succès

Rob Jussila est membre de la section locale 692 de l’AIM depuis plus de 37 ans et travaille actuellement à titre de compagnon ouvrier qualifié pour Finning (Canada) à la Mine Ekati Diamond dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. En 2012, Rob a demandé la bourse d’études de l’AIM pour aider sa fille Allison à payer ses frais de baccalauréat. Allison a reçu l’une des bourses d’études de l’AIM en 2013. « Je suis

La formation pour les PSSP augmentera en Ontario, mais la province doit en faire plus

Au cours des derniers mois, le gouvernement ontarien de Doug Ford a fait l’objet d’énormes pressions pour remédier à la pénurie de personnel dans l’ensemble du système de santé, qui a parfois mis la vie des patients et des résidents en danger. La question de dotation est un problème constant dans le secteur des soins de santé. Il est particulièrement endémique dans celui des soins de longue durée. Outre l’absence

Lettre à Justin Trudeau: La survie du secteur aérospatial compromise; vous devez agir

Lettre à Justin Trudeau. La survie du secteur aérospatial compromise; vous devez agir Montréal 15 juin 2020 Au très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada Je vous écris aujourd’hui en tant que représentant de l’Association Internationale des Machinistes et des travailleurs et travailleuses de l’Aérospatiale (AIMTA) pour vous faire part de mon inquiétude quant à l’avenir de l’aérospatiale au Canada. Comme ailleurs dans le monde, notre écosystème aérospatial n’est

IMPACTS DE GENRE DE COVID19

22 juin, 2020 Bluejeans-Conférence Virtuelle 19:00-20:30 EST +1.866.599.3622 (Canada Toll-Free) +1.438.788.3021 (Canada French) ID: 593 313 714 Joignez-vous à nous pour une discussion sur l’importance d’une « récuperation pour elle » pour l’économie canadienne dans l’environnement post-pandémique. Nous discuterons également du document « Jobs Worth Fighting For » (Luttons pour nos emplois) et déterminerons les priorités en milieu de travail et politiques. Que vous travailliez ou que vous soyez mis

L’AIM Canada encouragée par la prolongation du PCU

16 juin 2020 Pour diffusion immédiate TORONTO (Ontario) – L’AIM Canada est encouragée par l’annonce du gouvernement fédéral qui prolonge de huit semaines la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU). Cette décision prolonge la couverture à 24 semaines. « C’est la bonne chose à faire, car elle aide les travailleurs touchés par la pandémie de COVID-19. Cela touche de nombreux membres de l’AIM, ainsi que de nombreux autres Canadiens », a déclaré le vice-président

Abaisser la température aux aéroports canadiens

Le vendredi 12 juin 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il exigera des contrôles de température pour tous les passagers qui voyagent à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du Canada ainsi que pour tous les employés travaillant dans les aéroports canadiens. Le déploiement des contrôles de température et des aéroports concernés sera une approche progressive et sera la suivante : Phases Phase 1 : D’ici le 30 juin 2020, tous les exploitants aériens devront effectuer un contrôle de

Les syndicats du Manitoba montrent la voie

Cette semaine, le juge Mckelvey, Cour du Banc de la Reine du Manitoba, a conclu que le projet de loi 28 du gouvernement conservateur de Pallister – « Loi sur la viabilité des services publics » était inconstitutionnelle et constituait une violation de la Charte des droits et libertés et un contournement des droits des travailleurs à la négociation collective. Cette mesure législative controversée a été présentée en 2017 et

Federal Right to Refuse Dangerous Work

DOWNLOAD THE PDF FEDERAL RIGHT TO REFUSE DANGEROUS WORK {Canada Labour Code, s. 122, 128, 129, 146, 147} HEALTH AND SAFETY FACT SHEET Danger is defined in the Code as any hazard, condition or activity that could reasonably be expected to be an imminent or serious threat to the life or health of a person exposed to it before the hazard or condition can be corrected or the activity altered.

IAM Scholarship a springboard to greater success

Rob Jussila has been a member of IAM Local 692 for over 37 years and currently works as a journeyman partsperson for Finning (Canada) at the Ekati Diamond Mine in the Northwest Territories. In 2012, Rob applied for the IAM Scholarship to help with his daughter Allison’s expenses towards her bachelor’s degree. Allison was awarded one of the IAM Scholarships for 2013. “I’m glad the IAM scholarship has helped Allison

PSW Training to Increase in Ontario, But Province Must Do More

Over the last few months, the Ontario Ford government has been under immense pressure to address staffing shortages throughout the healthcare system, which in some cases has put the lives of patients and residents at risk. Staffing issues have been an ongoing problem in healthcare and have been especially endemic in long term care. In addition to short staffing, the system’s reliance on part-time work has put many lives in

Letter to Justin Trudeau: The survival of the aerospace sector compromised; you must act

Montreal June 15, 2020 To the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada I am writing to you today as a representative of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) to express my concern about the future of aerospace in Canada. As elsewhere in the world, our aerospace ecosystem is not immune to the economic impacts of COVID-19. Many workers in this industry have lost their jobs,

GENDERED IMPACTS OF COVID-19

June 22, 2020 7:00-8:30 p.m. EST Bluejeans Virtual Discussion Looking forward to “seeing” you there! Dial in: +1.866.599.3622(Canada Toll-Free) +1.438.788.3021(Canada French) Meeting ID:593 313 714 Join us for a discussion about the importance of a “she-covery” to the Canadian economy in the post-pandemic environment. We will also discuss the “Jobs Worth Fighting For” document and determine workplace and political priorities. Whether you are currently working or laid off, we want

IAM Canada Encouraged by CERB Extension

16 June, 2020 For immediate release TORONTO, ON – IAM Canada is encouraged by the federal government announcement that extends the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) for another eight weeks. The move extends the coverage to 24 weeks. “It is the right thing to do as it helps workers adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. This affects many IAM members, as well as numerous other Canadians,” said Stan Pickthall, IAM Canadian General Vice-President. “We

Lowering the Temperature at Canadian Airports

On Friday June 12, 2020 the Canadian Government announced it will require temperature screenings for all passengers flying in and out of Canada and for all employees working at Canadian Airports. The rollout of the temperature checks and the relevant airports will be a phased approach and will be as follows: Phases Phase 1: By June 30, 2020, all air operators will be required to conduct temperature screenings of all

Manitoba Unions Lead the Way

This week’s court ruling by Manitoba Queens Bench Justice McKelvey found that the Pallister Conservative Government’s Bill 28 – “The Public Services Sustainability Act” was unconstitutional and a violation of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and a circumvention of workers’ rights to collective bargaining. This controversial legislation was introduced in 2017 and never proclaimed into law. The government acted as if it was law, by mandating a two-year wage

Communications in challenging times – IAM Canada steps up again

14 June, 2020 – IAM Canada conducted five video conference Local Lodge President Meetings from June 1 – 10, 2020. The meetings were regionally attended: the Atlantic, Western, Manitoba and Ontario, the Greater Toronto Area and Quebec regions were all represented. The meetings were conducted via Bluejeans, a videoconferencing platform, with in excess of 20 participants on each call. Organized by the Canadian office in order to outreach our communications, General Vice-President Stan

65 New members at Envoy Air Montreal

10 June, 2020 For immediate release Montreal, QC – The 65 members of Envoy Air, based at Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport in Montreal, chose the IAM to negotiate their first collective agreement. One year ago, employees approached the union for information on the IAM. In these uncertain times, the workers were worried, and the absence of a collective agreement made many nervous and fearful of finding themselves without jobs or