CLC goes electronic to vote in new executive!

CLC goes electronic to vote in new executive!

Toronto, ON – The fourth day of the 28th Canadian Labour Congress here was highlighted on two fronts. More than 3,000 delegates took the message of the need for a $15.00 minimum wage to the financial district of Toronto with a noon hour march and block party. That was followed by the election of new executive officers and the voting was done electronically.

Each delegate was given an electronic voting card and an electronic voting device. For each election, in this case for the position of Secretary Treasurer, delegates had two choices – Marie Clark Walker from CUPE and Ferne Downey of ACTRA. The delegate merely highlighted the candidate they wanted, clicked a button and their vote was tabulated instantly. The results were available within a matter of minutes after voting was closed. For the position of Executive Vice President, delegates had to choose two candidates from Bernard LaFleur of CUPW, Larry Rousseau of PSAC and Sussanne Skidmore of BCGEU.

Marie Clark Walker was elected Secretary Treasurer and Bernard LaFleur and Larry Rousseau were elected Executive Vice Presidents. The new electronic voting eliminated the old paper voting system which has proven over the years to be very time consuming. The five-day convention wrapped up Friday morning.


Photo one: The electronic voting device used for the first time to elect a new executive for the Canadian Labour Congress

Photo Two : The new executive of the CLC  for next three years, from left to right – Bernard LaFleur of CUPW – Executive Vice President, Larry Rousseau of PSAC – Executive Vice President, Hussan Youssef of UNIFOR – CLC President, Marie Clark Walker of CUPE – Secretary Treasurer.